Completed, Good, Monthly Book

The Bone Season

By Samantha Shannon

5 out of 5 stars

Summary:

18594512The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

Review:

I read this because it is the book of the month for the Life & Lit Facebook book club and because the author shares my first name.

Nooooooooo!!!!!!!!
That sound you hear is my heart breaking!….

I need to read the sequel like now!

Oh my goodness, did this book suck me in. Like I read it in a day and it’s a rather thick book. I don’t–I can’t comprehend how this is the debut book from this author! It flowed so well and there was so much yet not an overwhelming amount of details about the world. I still have lots of questions but bits of information were given at the right time to keep me intrigued.

Simply put, the world sucked me in. I loved the characters, the politics, the distinction between the world’s and the conspiracies and the romance! God– *hiccups* the romance…

WHY MUST I FEEL?!

I panicked at the end when I realized the book was done and I was not missing a chapter. I am so happy that I picked up the sequel at the same time as The Bone season and it is definitely getting read in the next month or two. I am actually heading on vacation and will be too busy to read and this was such a good book to do this with. I am so desperate to come back and start reading again.

PS, I just found out they did a cover change which erks me to no end but I loved this book so much that I don’t even care.

PPS, I think I may reread this again before the end of the month just to make sure I didn’t miss anything and grab the sequel right after.

Leave a Reply

